top of page

Ippoliti's Pumpkin Loaf

Happy Fall and welcome to my first installment of Seasonal Living: The Blog.


This recipe was written by my Nana & is perfect for the fall season! I've made pumpkin loaves before but this REALLY blew me away with how good it was. Let's be honest.. I think it's SO nerve wracking when other people are trying something that I've baked. It's an extension of myself and my reputation, so I'm always hoping (and stressing) that it's well received. Although when I bring this pumpkin loaf somewhere I never have any doubts that it will be a hit! It's also pretty simple.



My Nana's parents were from Italy and that's where this specific recipe originated. As I read through it I found a little story on the back of the paper that I thought was SO cool. My Nana passed away over 10 years ago so it was super special to find a story like this about the recipe that I otherwise would have never known about.

She is referring to my great-great-grandmother!

Since this makes 4 loafs I tried using a Nordic Ware fancy loaf pan for one of them. Definitely invest in cooking oil spray if using one of these!

This is probably old school BUT the recipe calls for saving (4) 1lb coffee cans to bake the loafs in-- but you can use loaf pans like I did! Are metal coffee cans even a thing anymore?

4 cups sugar

1 29 oz can pumpkin

3 eggs

1 cup oil (Mazola best)

5 cups flour

1 tbsp baking soda

2 tsp cinnamon

1 ½ tsp ground cloves

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups chopped dates

2 cups chopped walnuts

Combine sugar, pumpkin & eggs- blend well.

Add oil, beat to combine.

Thoroughly blend in flour, soda, cinnamon, cloves and salt.

Stir in dates & nuts.

Fill ¾ full 4 greased 1lb coffee cans or loaf pans (I used the loaf option!)

Bake at 350 for about 1 hour (until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean) Serve with whipped cream or cream cheese (soft).


Enjoy!!




96 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page